Maryland drivers have something in common with drivers all over the country: they love to use their cellphones behind the wheel. While many motorists feel that they are able to successfully drive and carry on a conversation or text their friends, this is generally not true.
As a result, Maryland is one of several states that ban texting while driving. Of course, it is beyond the scope of most law enforcement agents to pull someone over merely for texting while driving; in many cases, it isn't clear if that's what a driver is doing.
As an excellent article we recently posted on our website notes, Maryland is among several states that are taking the crackdown on distracted driving a step further. As of last month, it is now a primary offense in our state to use a handheld cellphone while driving. Now, officers can pull over and cite motorists for the sole reason of illegally using a mobile phone.
The punishment for this violation increases every time someone is found guilty of it. The first time, the fine is $83; a second violation yields a $140 fine. The fine is increased another $20 to $160 for all subsequent violations.
Will this really clamp down on distracted driving? It remains to be seen. If nothing else, the new law has received a lot of publicity in the mass media, which serves to remind people that distracted driving, aside from being dangerous, can be costly.
People who have been victimized by distracted drivers know this better than anyone. If you have been injured in a motor vehicle accident as a result of someone else's negligence, you owe it to yourself to contact an experienced personal injury attorney.