For many people, driving is a crucial mode of transportation, and losing the privilege would be felt in many ways. Whether it's driving to work, driving to school, or driving commercially, people need their driver's licenses to get through each day.
Loss of driving privileges is one of several consequences you could suffer for a conviction for DWI or DUI.
In the state of Maryland, driving while impaired, also called a DWI, is considered a less serious offense than driving under the influence. The consequences, however, can still be severe. Authorities can seek to charge you with DWI when your blood alcohol content (BAC) registers at 0.07 percent. A DUI charge - driving under the influence - can result when the driver's BAC is 0.08 percent or higher.
Commercial drivers are held to an even more stringent standard when it comes to drinking and driving. The blood alcohol limit for them is only 0.04 percent.
Even your first DUI/DWI conviction can result in severe penalties. They could include jail time and fines and more.
How would it affect my license?
If you receive a first-time conviction for a DUI, your license could be revoked for up to six months. Under a state law enacted in October 2016, an ignition interlock device could also be added to your car - a major inconvenience that could hinder your mobility.
Maryland also has a law that can subject you to an automatic license suspension if you decline a request to take a test to determine your blood alcohol content. This implied consent means that if you refuse the chemical test to determine whether you have been drinking or abusing drugs while driving, your license can be revoked for 120 days, though an appeal may be possible.
Driving privileges are something that many people take for granted. It is only after they are gone that the significance becomes apparent. To be confident your rights are protected, consult an experienced attorney.